1920 x 640_About MPL



Website Lines



Download Entry Form Here



Entries will be reviewed by members of the South Texas Book Festival Committee. The decisions of the judges are final.



All physical entries become the property of McAllen Public Library without infringement on the copyrights of the entrants. Submission to the contest grants McAllen Public Library permission to reproduce. Contest winners will be invited and recognized at an awards ceremony held during the South Texas Book Festival on Saturday, October 28th.

General Eligibility

  • Contestants must be between the ages of 5 & 18 years old
  • Contestants must reside in Starr, Hidalgo, Willacy, or Cameron Counties
  • All entries must address the theme “La Luna Y El Sol”



  • The contest opens on Monday, July 24th.
  • The deadline for submissions is Friday, October 6th at 5:00PM.
  • Late entries will not be considered.
  • Submissions may be turned in at any McAllen Public Library location.
  • An individual may submit only one entry.
  • Entries must be the contestant's original work. Copyrighted materials such as characters, art and logos will not be accepted.
  • Submissions will be judged in three separate age categories:
    5-8 years, 9-13 years, and 14-18 years.
  • Use only the space provided. Everything outside of the lines will not be considered for the contest.
  • Acceptable art tools include colored pencils, crayons, markers, pens, paint, watercolor, and digital illustration.
  • Please do not sign or initial the entry.



For any questions, please email us at referencelibrarian@mcallen.net or call our Teen Department at 956-681-3090.






View special moments from the 2022 Youth Contest Ceremony!


View special moments from the 2021 Youth Contest Ceremony!

IMG_1141 IMG_1081 IMG_1112 IMG_1147 IMG_1088 IMG_1138 IMG_1115 IMG_1102 IMG_1109 IMG_1145 IMG_1118 IMG_1127 IMG_1149 IMG_1123 IMG_1129 IMG_1153 IMG_1165 IMG_1132 IMG_1161 IMG_1169 IMG_1136 IMG_1104 IMG_1157 IMG_1195 IMG_1182 IMG_1187 IMG_2556 IMG_1176 IMG_1189 IMG_1180 IMG_1172 IMG_2549



View Last Year's Winning Bookmark Designs:

Abigail Rivera:  Abigail
Angelique Garcia:  Angelique
Charlotte Lamb:  Charlotte
Emma Camacho Ramos:  Emma
Kimberly Nuche:  Kimberly
Lilia Moore:  Lilia
Maria Villarreal Castro:  Maria
Riley Ahumada:  Riley
Sofia Enriquez Rosas:  Sofia

Follow Us